Posted by: immanuelryan | May 2, 2009

Homework Headaches

My head hurtsAs I approach the penultimate week of 16 years of school I have a couple of homework assignments to turn in and I don’t know how I’m going to make it. When I stare at the computer screen to type a paper about marketing strategies to improve the city of Phoenix light rail project my eyes blur and butterflies rapidly spawn and flutter about in my stomach searching for an exit, probably my belly button. I’ve always been a bit of a perfectionist and since I know this is the final paper of my college career I want it to be my best work, but that thought adds more stress to an already complex project. I’m just going to buckle down and get it done. Besides, once the paper is behind me I can begin looking to a future that doesn’t include homework assignments! That thought is a bit depressing though because there have been so many assignments from school over the last 16 years that have really been a blast to work on: the 5th grade science project on tornadoes, the high school paper I wrote comparing the characters in George Orwell’s Animal Farm to modern celebrities, my college thesis detailing a strategy for opening my own restaurant, etc. I know that the future will not be without projects and deadlines though. In fact, I already have deadlines for turning in information for my future internship with a Christian organization. Maybe the headaches of deadlines and assignments will never go away but they can be diminished through proper planning and organization and having a positive mindset.

Leave a Reply

Categories

