Posted by: immanuelryan | May 2, 2009

A night at the theater

The stage of life

The stage of life

Well, I did it. I managed to write the dreaded marketing paper and because I did I was able to celebrate my accomplishment by going out with some friends to see a one man play at the university. It was an interesting production for me to watch because the protagonist used his time on stage to tell his life story in well-acted, dramatic fashion, but the whole time,  in my mind I thought, “that could be me!” You see, I began my college career as a theater major. NO, it’s true! Immanuel Ryan, the business major, once found his worth by telling stories on a stage. At some point between then and now a little bit of that dream died and I don’t regret the path I’ve chosen. I don’t regret getting a “responsible” degree or learning life skills like financial planning, working on team projects, and critical analysis in the business school. But there’s still a part of me that wants to tell a story to a captive audience. Part of me that wants to pretend to be other characters, talk in funny accents, and be able to speak witty, unhesitant sentences that have been scripted for me. But a famous actor once said that the more you love yourself off of the stage, the less you want to pretend to be others on it, and maybe that’s true. Or maybe it’s balderdash and I need to go pursue my dreams.

Responses

  1. WOW son…………….. You have such a wonderful story to tell that a stage can would not do you justice, shout it from the roof tops!!

  2. This is a beautiful entry 🙂 and I have to say a huge AMEN(!) to the final part, where you talk about the story that you get to tell. There are times I wish I was doing something else (music is a really big one for me — I went to a concert the other day and felt similar things as you’re sharing here), and then I snap out of it and realize how lucky I am. Anyways, very well written here, brohan.


Leave a Reply

Categories

